A Funeral in England

A Funeral in England

In Memory of David Leslie Priston

I have heard more laughter

Than I have seen tears—

And the tears I saw

Were not tears of sorrow.

 

Unlike me, he knew the name

Of the bird I hear chirping

In the garden, and yet

I find it beautiful.

 

I heard the blackbird

Morning song in church,

And could not restrain my tears,

But there was no sadness.

 

If we can ride the clouds with You,

Surely he will choose the fastest one

And take a ride down the small lanes

And round the bends of heaven.

 

I had noticed that in England

The sun is not always hot,

Now I also know

That a funeral is not always sad.

 

Yes, there can be joy in death
When death has lost its sting.

About danielhszabo

I guess if I continue like this I'll be able to call myself a writer. For now I'm just an English literature and translation teacher in beautiful Brittany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

