There’s something you don’t seem to understand

There’s something you don’t seem to understand,
Perhaps because you do not
Use these words,
But when I say I love you,

(I’m sorry I have to say it,
But it’s not because I say it easily
And because you already know it
That I should stop saying it.)

What I mean is I’m so glad
I met you in Paris that night,
So glad you trusted me
When I used these words the first time.

Yes, when I say I love you,
That’s what I mean,
I also mean I’m so glad I married you
And not another woman.

What? I hear them say,
Another love poem?
They should be banned.
A poem about marriage?

That’s even worse.
My teacher used to say:
Don’t you know
Marriage kills love?

No one has ever written
A good poem about marriage—
Except T.S. Eliot maybe,
And it wasn’t even very good.

But I don’t care, I need to say it again:
I think there’s something you don’t understand,
Perhaps because you do not use these words,
But when I say I love you,

I think of how intelligent
And strong and creative you are,
You’re an incredible woman,
An incredible mother.

And I don’t want to stay downstairs
In front of my computer
When I know you’re falling asleep
Upstairs without me,

Because I want to be with you
When you fall asleep and when you wake up;
Because if I’m not there
I feel I’m going to miss something.

When I say I love you,
I don’t mean that I want to have sex with you
I do, but that’s not what I mean,
At least not straight away.

This is probably a bit too sentimental,
A bit too simple,
A bit too common
To make it a good poem;

But right now, I really don’t care
I want to come up
And join you in bed
Before you fall asleep.

That’s what I mean
When I repeat those words,
When I say I love you.
Do you understand?

About danielhszabo

I guess if I continue like this I'll be able to call myself a writer. For now I'm just an English literature and translation teacher in beautiful Brittany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

